top of page
Search
  • bgsimpson

Star Wars

I have loved Star Wars ever since I was a kid. Now that I have access to various rapid prototyping techniques, I have been able to replicate several of the helmets from the franchise.

My first two helmets

I printed most of the components of the helmets and then post processed them. This post will give a brief insight into the creation of theses helmets.


Step 1: Design/source your files.

The most important step in a helmet build is finding/creating the files. I was able to find most of my files for free on websites such as Thingiverse. You can also find paid files on websites like Etsy.


Step 2: Printing

The second step is to print the files. If you have access to a large volume printer (roughly a cubic foot), then you will be able to print the helmet in one print. If not, then you can split up the parts using software like Meshmixer to make the individual parts fit your printer.


Step 3: Prep the Seams

If you had to split up the model, then you will need to make sure that all of your joining edges are flat, smooth, and suitable for glue. I will usually tape sandpaper to a flat surface (like a granite counter), then start sanding away until you have uniform surface texture.


Step 4: Glue

After your parts are prepped, you must then glue the seams. I recommend using CA glue to set the seams, then use epoxy along the back side of the seams to reinforce them.


Step 5: Fill

Once the helmet is fully assembled, you then must sue some method to fill the surface gaps. This will greatly reduce the amount of sanding needed to achieve a smooth surface finish. To fill the surface, you can use either Bondo or filler primer paint. I recommend Bondo if the gaps are extremely large, but if the gaps are smaller filler primer is the way to go.

A shore trooper from Star Wars
My most recent helmet


Step 6: Paint

Next, you will need to paint the helmet to match your desire.


Step 7 (Optional): Weathering

The final step is to weather the helmet to make it look used. I like to do this so that it makes the helmet look as if it was battle hardened. I accomplish this by mixing black, brown, and sometimes green acrylic paints with water to thin it out slightly. Then I cover the helmet with the paint and a brush. Then I use a cloth to wipe off most of the paint.


Now you are the proud owner of your own, custom helmet. Now you just have to wait several months until Halloween and then you will have plenty of fun!


10 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page